The Books To Make You A Stronger Marketer. With Douglas Burdett

douglas burdett

When it comes to what marketing books to read, Douglas Burdett is the perfect person to ask.

Douglas is the host of the long running, Marketing Book Podcast. A show that promises to make you a better marketer.

In this show I ask a host of questions, here they are (as well as the links).

If I wanted to start 2018 with some new thinking  

The Content Revolution by Mark Masters (I HAD TO PUT THIS IN DIDN’T I!?!)https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/the-content-revolution-mark-masters  

UnBranding by Scott and Alison Stratten https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/unbranding-alison-stratten  

Non-Obvious 2018 by Rohit Bhargava This will publish on 1/5/2018 This was his 2017 interview: https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/non-obvious-2017-rohit-bhargava

A book to give clarity on how marketing is today  

David Meerman Scott – The New Rules of Marketing and PR (6th edition) https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/new-rules-marketing-pr-david-meerman-scott  

12 Powers of a Marketing Leader by Thomas Barta and Patrick Barwise https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/12-powers-marketing-leader-thomas-barta

If I wanted to really lean into building a personal brand?  

Known by Mark Schaefer  https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/known-mark-schaefer  

The Road to Recognition by Seth Price and Barry Feldman https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/road-to-recognition-barry-feldman  

The Dorie Clark trilogy: reinventing you, stand out and entrepreneurial you https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/the-marketing-book-podcast-reinventing-you-dorie-clarkhttps://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/stand-out-dorie-clarkhttps://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/entrepreneurial-you-dorie-clark

If I wanted to learn a bit more about behaviour, not just how we should market/sell?  

Impossible to ignore by Carmen Simon https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/impossible-to-ignore-carmen-simon  

The Business of choice by Matthew Willcox https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/the-business-of-choice-mathew-willcox  

The Science of Selling by David Hoffeld https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/the-science-of-selling-david-hoffeld

Douglas’ own personal favourite from 2017   The End of Advertising by Andrew Essex https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/end-of-advertising-andrew-essex  

Perennial Seller by Ryan Holiday https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/perennial-seller-ryan-holiday  

They Ask You Answer by Marcus Sheridan https://www.artillerymarketing.com/marketing-book-podcast/they-ask-you-answer-marcus-sheridan

A book that is timeless?  

How To Win Friends and Influence People by Dale Carnegie  Anything by Peter Drucker, Philip Kotler

Subscribe to the
Thursday email

The weekly email on the loyal audience you build so people will spend more time with you. New thoughts every Thursday at 6.30am GMT.

Find out more

‘You Are The Media is powered by We Are The Media. We turn your expertise into clear, compelling messages, then build those messages into the kind of content people value —and come back for.

Visit We Are The Media